NO ACTIVE MS! 6 months post transplant

I am happy to report that my six (6) month MRI shows no active disease!

So the wonderful HSCT treatment was successful in stopping my MS from attacking my brain! YAY! Although unfortunately, I am very aware that I do still have many lesions (scars) in my brain and spine.

Check out below one of my MRI slides of my adorable brain, the white parts are damaged bits:

image
MRI slide of brain and spine
Irene Christis

I have been recovering since my mayoblative HSCT treatment that was performed at St Vincents Hospital in Sydney by the brilliant team under Dr Moore on 1 April 2015.

image
Irene Christis

The treatment process and chemotherapy were ridiculously intense.

That was the most scariest, last best hope to treat my MS – quote from Babylon 5 come on I had to get my geek on 😉

Following a lengthy stay in Canberra Hospital that resulted from a significant MS attack leaving me immobile and unconsciousness. I was hovering around 9 on the below EDSS scale  graph. 10 is death.

image
Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS)

The Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) is a method of quantifying disability in multiple sclerosis and monitoring changes in the level of disability over time. It is widely used in clinical trials and in the assessment of people with MS.

I  knew that I had get up, move and work extremely hard to be able to meet the criteria for the Autologous Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant (HSCT) treatment.

I had to be 6 on graph and walk 100 meters. I started with small improvements from moving one toe to eventually walking with cruches.

I JUST KEPT BELIEVING THAT I COULD.

I have to say that the HSCT treatment  process was seriously terrifying, life changing and nessary for a chance of quality of life.

Currently I am keeping busy with lots of rehabilitation both physical, mental to remap my neurological paths…kind of like renetworking a computer system.

Plus many more medical appointments and a much needed mother daughter vacation!

image
Mum and Erini on holiday

Back to reality doctors, medications, physiotherapists, acupuncture….blah blah. It’s all good, I’ll keep moving forward getting stronger and working on my showy off muscles 💪

Love Irene xxx

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “NO ACTIVE MS! 6 months post transplant

  1. Hi Irene
    What a truly amazing journey you have been on, which has not been easey by any stretch of the imagination. You make it sound like a walk in the park. Those who know you all love you including me of course☺. One of the things we love about you is your ability to stay strong and your determination to keep trying no matter how bad your circumstances have been. Your poitive attitude is an inspiration to all of us and I look forward to walking with you along the road ahead.

Leave a Reply

